Current News
Current News

             EYFS - Early Years                     Foundation Stage Framework

EYFS 2021 Letter
EYFS 2021.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [193.9 KB]
EYFS Presentation
EYFS 2021 Presentation.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [490.9 KB]
Norcot Charter
Norcot Charter.pdf
Adobe Acrobat document [835.9 KB]

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:


  •  Communication and language;
  •  Physical development; and
  •  Personal, social and emotional development.


These prime areas are those most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in 4 specific areas. These are:


  •  Literacy;
  •  Mathematics;
  •  Understanding the world; and
  •  Expressive arts and design.


These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs.


This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it's suitable for very young children, and it's designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's unique needs and interests.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active, and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.

Click here for the full report.

Nursery School

Tel: 0118 937 5577



Waterside Day Care

Tel: 0118 937 5677



Postal Address

82 Lyndhurst Road



RG30 6UB